22/7 (nanabun no nijyuuni) gets Anime Series for 2020

©ANIME 22/7

Aniplex of America announced that the long-awaited anime series 22/7 (nanabun no nijyuuni) is headed to FunimationNow on January 11th and Crunchyroll starting February 10th.  This ambitious project produced by famed producer Yasushi Akimoto, creator of Japan’s top idol groups such as AKB48 and Nogizaka46, features original character designs from some of the industry’s most notable creators including anohana – The Flower We Saw That Day – and DARLING in the FRANXX‘s Masayoshi Tanaka, Monogatari Series’ Akio Watanabe, and Saekano: How to Raise a Boring Girlfriend’s Kurehito Misaki, and K-ON!’s Yukiko Horiguchi, who also serves as the character designer for the series.

22-7_PV2 Stills (2)

The series has signed on Takao Abo, who wowed viewers with his work on The Rising of The Shield Hero, to direct the series, while Satomi Tamura (Rascal Does Not Dream of Bunny Girl Senpai) and Akira Takada (IDOLM@STER) serve as chief animation directors. Acclaimed studio A-1 Pictures (Sword Art Online, Kaguya-sama: Love is War) will be handling the animation production with music by Masato Nakayama of We Never Learn: BOKUBEN.

22-7_PV2 Stills (1)

The series stars members from the idol group 22/7 (nanabun no nijyuuni), who were chosen to be a part of the group out of a pool of 10,325 applicants auditioning for their shot in this special project. Since the group’s creation, 22/7 (nanabun no nijyuuni) has pursued various fields of entertainment including singing, live performances, YouTube projects as well as appearances on variety shows as TV personalities. Viewers can look forward to getting a glimpse into the secrets behind the group’s debut and the story leading up to their creation from the different viewpoints of each member.


Both the opening and ending theme songs will be performed by the group, with the opening theme song titled “Muzui,” a slang term for the word “difficult” in Japanese, and the ending theme song titled “Sora no Emerarudo,” which translates to “emerald of the sky.”

About the anime 22/7 (nanabun no nijyuuni):

One day, Miu Takigawa suddenly receives a letter notifying her that she has been chosen as a member of a brand-new project.

Half in disbelief, she heads over to the location stated in the letter. There, she finds seven other girls summoned there in the same fashion. The girls behold a giant, top-secret facility. They stand in bewilderment as they are told:

“You are going to debut for a major record label as an idol group.”

A new kind of idol, never-before-seen, is about to be born here…

For more information on 22/7 (nanabun no nijyuuni), please visit: https://227anime-usa.com/

Stay connected with the official 22/7 (nanabun no nijyuuni) Facebook page at:



Chief Producer: Yasushi Akimoto

Original Character Design:

Kantoku, Mel Kishida, QP:flapper (Tometa Ohara, Koharu Sakura),

Kouhaku Kuroboshi, Hirokazu Koyama (TYPE-MOON),

 Masayoshi Tanaka, Mieko Hosoi, Yukiko Horiguchi, Kurehito Misaki,
Akio Watanabe

Comic Storyboard: Reiji Miyajima

Character Design: Yukiko Horiguchi

Director: Takao Abo

Series Composition: Reiji Miyajima, Chiaki Nagai

Animation Character Design/Chief Animation Director: Majiro

Chief Animation Directors: Satomi Tamura, Akira Takada

Prop Design: Mayuko Yamamoto

Assistant Director: Satsuki Takahashi

Art Director: Hotaka Okamoto (KUSANAGI)

Art Setting: Eiko Tsunado (KUSANAGI)

Color Setting: Naomi Nakano

Director of Photography: Yusaku Murakami

CG Director: Hiroyuki Yoshida (SHIROGUMI), Nao Kudo

Editing: Hitomi Sudo

Sound Director: Akiko Fujita

Music: Masato Nakayama

Animation Production: A-1 Pictures

Produced by: ANIME 22/7


Miu Takigawa: Nagomi Saijo

Sakura Fujima: Sally Amaki

Miyako Kono: Mizuha Kuraoka

Reika Sato: Chiharu Hokaze

Jun Toda: Ruri Umino

Akane Maruyama: Kanae Shirosawa

Ayaka Tachikawa: Reina Miyase


Leave a Reply