Magia Record Side Story Anime Hits Streams January 4

Magia Logo
©Magica Quartet/Aniplex, Magia Record Anime Partners

Aniplex of America has announced that the wait is finally over as the latest addition to the Puella Magi Madoka Magica series begins with the highly anticipated premiere of Magia Record: Puella Magi Madoka Magica Side Story on January 4th on Funimation Now and January 11th on Crunchyroll and HIDIVE. The creative team behind the beloved series that revolutionized the magical girl genre returns with Akiyuki Shimbou, chief director of the Puella Magi Madoka Magica series and movie, serving as animation supervisor and studio SHAFT (March comes in like a lion, Monogatari series) handling the animation production. Gekidan InuCurry (Doroinu) takes over as chief director and series composition, while Aokiume is credited for providing the original main character concepts, and Junichiro Taniguchi returns as character designer and chief animation director.

Magia Record KV w English Logo
©Magica Quartet/Aniplex, Magia Record Partners

The series is based on the story featured in the mobile game by the same name, which was released in the U.S. and Canada on App Store and Google Play in June of 2019. Viewers are invited to meet a new generation of Magical Girls as they unravel the mysteries of Kamihama City and the dark truth behind the rumors spreading amongst the Magical Girls.

Some people have been introduced to the characters and this part of the story through the mobile game. Don’t fret if you haven’t been playing the mobile app game and have no idea of this title. If you want to catch up quickly you can binge the introduction to this series on Netflix. Then you’ll be prepared for the full side story when the anime comes to stream.

©Magica Quartet/Aniplex, Magia Record Partners

At the center of the series is Iroha Tamaki, voiced by Momo Asakura (High School Fleet, Kaguya-sama: Love is War) from the girl group TrySail, in search of the wish that turned her into a Magical Girl. On her journey, she encounters fellow Magical Girls Yachiyo Nanami and Yui Tsuruno, voiced by fellow TrySail members Sora Amamiya (ALDNOAH ZERO, Akame ga KILL!) and Shina Natsukawa (High School Fleet, Interview with Monster Girls). Ayane Sakura (Is the order a rabbit?, Charlotte), Yui Ogura (Goblin Slayer, Yuuna and the Haunted Hot Springs ), and Mikako Komatsu (Nisekoi, Eromanga Sensei) lend their voices to the Magical Girls Felicia Mitsuki, Sana Futaba, and Momoko Togame respectively, alongside Emiri Kato (Monogatari series, Black Butler) who returns to the franchise as her iconic character, Kyubey.

TrySail has been tasked with performing the opening theme song “Gomakashi” accompanied by the ending theme song “Alicia,” performed by ClariS.


For more information on the series, please visit:

About Magia Record: Puella Magi Madoka Magica Side Story:

In exchange for the fulfillment of a wish, Magical Girls keep fighting, unbeknownst to the rest of the world.

But Iroha Tamaki can’t seem to remember her wish.

“When I became a Magical Girl, what did I wish for again?”

There is a gaping hole in her life.

Something important has been lost.

But she continues to fight every day, without even knowing why…

Then, a rumor begins to spread among Magical Girls.

“Magical Girls can be saved if they go to Kamihama.”

Kamihama City, the city where Magical Girls and Uwasa are gathering.

The story of Iroha Tamaki, in search of her lost wish, begins…



Original Story: Magica Quartet

Chief Director/Series Composition: Gekidan InuCurry (Doroinu)

Original Main Character Concepts: aokiume

Assistant Director: Yukihiro Miyamoto

Character Design/Chief Animation Director: Junichiro Taniguchi

Chief Animation Directors: Nobuhiro Sugiyama, Hiroki Yamamura

Action Director: Takashi Hashimoto

Main Animators: Yoshiaki Ito, Akihisa Takano, Kana Miyai

Art Director: Ken Naito

Color Setting: Hitoshi Hibino

Editor: Rie Matsubara

CG Director: Hisato Shima

Director of Photography: Koji Tsuchiya

Screenplay in Association with ELSEWARE

Music: Takumi Ozawa

Sound Director: Yota Tsuruoka

Animation Supervisor: Akiyuki Shimbou

Animation Production: SHAFT



Iroha Tamaki: Momo Asakura

Yachiyo Nanami: Sora Amamiya

Yui Tsuruno: Shina Natsukawa

Felicia Mitsuki: Ayane Sakura

Sana Futaba: Yui Ogura

Momoko Togame: Mikako Komatsu

Kaede Akino: Ayaka Ohashi

Rena Minami: Kaori Ishihara

Kuroe: Kana Hanazawa

Small Kyubey: Emiri Kato


Leave a Reply